Peepli Live…Chance encounter with a superstar

 

I have often been accused of thinking too much. I at times wondered why? I mean why I think so much. Not that I thought I think so much but if everyone is saying so then it must be true. No? Anyway, thing is today I realized why. And also what the fuck I should have care for what people say. I think because I think. I dont try to think. It just happens by itself. Thoughts germinate and take shape on their own and it just so happens by chance that they do so within the space called my head.I know I am sounding a bit boring. That is because I am writing not because I want to but because I have to. I met Amir Khan after all today! My writing can not be so pricey that an event like that can not elicit a few paragraphs from me!
Event was Peepli Live press meet and music launch. I was there in some capacity which is neither important nor relevant. I knew Indian Ocean band will be there. I knew Raghubir Yadav and other cast members will be there. As I entered the venue, I was stopped by the bouncer. he didnt know I would be there. I am with *****, I told him. he let me go. I am not sure if he knew who **** is but my eyes were clean, without any fear, honest and straight. He let me go. (I would like to belive he let me go because of whatever my eyes told him, ofcourses chances are he knew whom I knew).
I wandered about inside looking at the preparation. There were cameras, lotsa them. A few people, none of whom I knew. ofcourse no one knew me as well. We were all strangers to each others and that was the common thing between us. We were all waiting for someone to come and fill our day. Soon some came. Indian Ocean band. I could recongnize them from their pics I had seen and also from their concert I had seen a few years back. There was Ragubir Yadav too, sitting on one of the seats. I could recognize him from so many places I had seen him. I was amused but not carried enough. Then he came. I mean Amir Khan. I wasnt ready for it. I just kept gawking at him. he looked just like he looks in his movies. Not much of a difference. There didnt appear anything completely out of ordinary about him. But obviously we know there is something about him. It is not so obviously visibile to everyone. As he moved around, it looked as if all present automatically gravitated towards him. A few clicks, a few handshakes. He took it all in stride. As he came closer to the cameras, everyone turned them towards him. Arre, ise event ke liye rakhiye. Meri to lete hi rahate hain (photo he meant), he said casually. You could see that he is aware of his stardom, of his affect on people and had perfected the art of handling all of it, without least bit of hassle. With a gesture of humility so well perfected over time that it looks fabricated. And also that he enjoys it. This attention. This people acknowledging and his display of casualness towards it. I just stood frozen as he walked past me a couple of times. This time as he walked in my direction, I kept looking. Someone standing closeby went upto him. Shook his hand. Said something. Something nice ofcourse. He shook his head. Said something polite. Smiled. And let him go. I didnt know what to do. I just stood. Gawking. For a brief instant he looked at me. In expectation of a response probably. He was anticipating my move. There didnt happen any. He moved past me. His smile remained intact. I moved away from him. Towards a cushy seat. Soon place was filled with many more stars and starlets. I could recognize a few. Rakesh Omprakash Mekra, Ashutosh Gowarikar, Rajkumar Hirani etc. Then I saw Sherman Joshi. he was standing close to where I was sitting. Someone sitting ear me went upto him. Shook hands, said something. A compliment. Thank you, Thank you, he said. He looked around. At me for a split second. Again the same moment. Expecting a response form me. there was none. I stay frozen.
Then the event started. Everyone got their due. Shutterbugs chased Amir. Those willing to get clicked had to follow a simple strategy. Stay close to Amit. Performance started. But one thing was clear. Media was interested in just one man. Need I name him.
Soon event was over. Everyone went home. I mean after a few drinks and chat-a-chete. I had left early. I couldnt find a reason to stay there. I hadnt thought about what to do there. I hadnt thought about it at all. And that was my undoing. I had even forgot to take a camera. As I travelled back in the local train, standing, holding a support I began to do what I have often been accused of overdoing. Thinking. What the fuck was I doing there. I saw Amir again. Moving in my direction. This time I did something different. I moved ahead. Grabbed his and with both hands as soon as he offered it. Babbled something about me liking his two moview specially, Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander and Akele Hum Akele Tum. I could see him a bit pleased and reacting that controlled amusement and delight which is again so well perfected that it looks fake. But it isnt. Superstars like being told that they deserve to be so. Again and again. It doesnt matter how many times they have been told so. My telling him one more time would not have been a thing in vain. I thought a few more dialogues being passed between us. But i will spare you with them. I feel a little foolish telling them actually. I also saw myself jumping towards Sharman. Tellimg him that he looks different from screen. He looks leaner and boyish on screen. he looks well off it too. It wouldnt have hurt saying so. Actors like being told they are good again and again. And what the fuck am I fooling myself. It is not for their sake I should have done so. I should have done so because I do not get to meet them on a daily basis. I met once. I let it go. Why? Because I hadnt thought about it. I hadnt pre-meditated it. What the damn fuck. So tonight I am going to (pre)meditate about a lot many of them. Let me see, a chance and sudden encounter with who all should I be ready with. Priyanka (Chopra), (Lara Dutta), Vidya (Balan), Sushmita, Celina (Jaitley), Riya (Sen), Deepika (Padukone) come to me immediately. I think I would add Drew Barrymore and Barbara (Mori) too, to make list global. Hmm…anyone I am mising you think! Let me know. I dont like to repeat the same mistake twice.

Leave a Reply

